Waldorf Inspired Dolls

I will be teaching the Waldorf Inspired dolls in Craft MNL on November 25th. Sign up at http://www.facebook.com/craftMNL

Why am I so into these dolls lately? Well I have always been interested with the classic looking dolls esp. those that look like the Raggidy Anne dolls. Recently I discovered that this dolls were called Waldorf Dolls. Who would have guess this is what these dollies were. I always thought they were just rag dolls.

Courtesy of Wiki

“A Waldorf doll (also called Steiner doll) is a form of doll used in Waldorf education. Made of wool and cotton, using techniques drawing on traditional European dollmaking, its appearance is intentionally simple in order to allow the child playing with it to improve or strengthen imagination and creativity. For instance, it has no facial expression. Its legs and arms are flexible, allowing natural postures.

Traditional Waldorf dolls are made from cotton interlock knit fabric and wool stuffing. They are often entirely natural. Typically the trademark long hair of a Waldorf doll is made of mohair or boucle. Some doll makers use alternative hair material such as wool, rayon, and cotton. The facial features of a Waldorf doll vary with the maker. Most Waldorf dolls have small suggestions of noses, their eye and mouth colors are generally varied with each doll.”

Since wool and interlock knit is hard to come by I have altered certain materials for my dolls but It still follows the form and technique of the traditional Waldorf doll. So Hence the name Waldorf Inspired Dolls. I still keep to the true nature of the Waldorf principal by making sure my materials are 100% cotton made from a smoke free environment and by hand.

I love making these type of dolls from molding the fiber fill and putting twine to make the head form to the cotton yarn hair. Its brings out the little girl inside me.

After 2 weeks of being sick and tending to my brother who recently got operated I only have heads and hairs in place. Hopefully I will have more by the time the art fair comes.

Here’s a sneak peak from my work table.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Waldorf Inspired Dolls

  1. Aww, this is beautiful! 🙂 I’m a preschool teacher, and these Waldorf dolls are really great in encouraging children to think creatively and flexibly. Fortunately, we have crafters like you now who make these available! I think we’ve all had too much of the scary-looking Baby Alive dolls which are always just happy.

Leave a Reply

